A lot of people aren’t sure what they need, or don’t need for a brand inspection. I am going to cover what is needed for an in state inspection, and an out of state inspection (from a state that doesn’t do inspections). I talked to the brand board to make sure I got all info needed so you have no questions left!
First to clarify any confusion; you MUST get a brand inspection (proof of ownership) in Colorado whether the horse has a brand or not; or you are not considered the legal owner of the horse. There is no alternative here.
When you are purchasing a horse from in Colorado, the seller of the horse is the only person that must be present for the brand inspection. The seller will need your information though, including; Full Name, Address, Phone Number.
The above also goes for other states that require brand inspections for a horse to be transferred to Colorado.
If a horse travels more than 75 miles without a new inspection (if you take the horse home prior to inspection and you live more than 75 miles away) you can be fined and the horse/animal can be taken away. All horses must have an inspection every time they leave the state (selling out of state or traveling further than 75 miles), no matter the circumstances. UNLESS you purchase a lifetime brand inspection card. If you are transporting a horse anywhere on public roads you must have your brand inspection available to show state patrol, local law enforcement or livestock inspectors. Another thing to note is that a Coggins test is required on all horses crossing state lines, in every state, no exceptions.
If you are purchasing a horse from out of state, and that state does not require brand inspections, there are a few more hoops to jump through than if the horse has a brand inspection. A health certificate is required, for the move/travel out of state, and a legal bill of sale is also required. The Brand Inspector requires the following on the bill of sale, to make it a legal document.
Requirements of a legal bill of sale are:
1. Date of transaction
2. Sellers name, address and phone number.
3. Buyers name, address and phone number.
4. Complete description of animals being purchased. (Should include the number of head, color, sex, breed, markings, ear marks, hot or freeze brands etc.)
5. Signature of seller
6. Signature of buyer
7. Signature of witness residing in the county where the transaction takes place.
Something that would be a good idea, just for personal protection and peace of mind, would be to consider chipping your horse as well. Many breeds require it for registration, the competition organizations are starting to require them, and realistically it is just a great way to really prove your ownership (without a doubt) on any horse or animal that you own.
If you have any other questions regarding a brand inspection, you can contact the brand inspectors directly through their website @ https://www.colorado.gov/pacific/agbrands/brands. They are really helpful and friendly.
Here is a resource to see exactly what you need if you are moving your horse into Colorado from another state: https://www.colorado.gov/pacific/aganimals